DUI and Physical Control Charges
New DUI laws for alcohol and marijuana-related offenses in the State of Washington have changed the penalties for first-time offenders in several important respects. If you are convicted of a first offense within seven years, you can expect a minimum of one or two days in jail, approximately $900.00 to $1,200.00 minimum fine and costs, and usually 90 days to one-year license suspension. However, in most cases, you may obtain an Ignition Interlock drivers license during the time of suspension. An Ignition Interlock must be installed in your car for at least a year, (although vehicles owned by or operated for an employer may be easily exempted from the ignition interlock requirement), and high-risk insurance is required for the next three years. You would likely be placed on probation for one to five years, and you would also be required to obtain an alcohol evaluation and complete any recommended alcohol program. Information on what to do when you are first arrested for a DUI or Physical Control is contained under a separate heading.
Further, if you are convicted of a DUI or Physical Control charge and you had a prior alcohol or marijuana DUI within seven years (even one that was reduced to Reckless Driving or Negligent Driving 1°), you are looking at a minimum of 30 or 45 days in jail plus 60 or 90 days of home detention, a much greater fine, and at least two or two and a half years of license revocation. However, in most cases, you could obtain an Ignition Interlock drivers license during the time of license revocation.
However, it is important to know that just because you are charged with a DUI, doesn't mean you that you will be found guilty. There are many possible defenses and many opportunities to reach a much better outcome. Don't plead guilty. Get experienced professional help. Call the attorneys of Kendrick and Malane.
In addition, the legislature has now enacted a process for issuing temporary licenses, probationary licenses, and in many circumstances, suspending or revoking a person's license through a separate Department of Licensing process, usually regardless of the outcome of your case in court. However, again, there are a number of opportunities for defense.
If you are charged with DUI or Physical Control or any other criminal offense or a serious traffic offense, it is critical that you have the best legal representation possible. Kip Kendrick of Kendrick and Malane has over thirty-five years experience in successfully defending many hundreds, and even thousands, of such cases. Emergency calls and first initial consultations on DUIs and other criminal offenses are free; our fees are reasonable and we will usually work out payment plans with clients.
We defend people accused of criminal offenses and people charged with major traffic offenses. We appear almost daily in District Courts, Municipal Courts and Superior Courts throughout Central Washington. The information we provide on this Website pertains only to cases in the state of Washington, not any other states.